AIA and the University of the Aftermarket Foundation (UofAF) Scholarship Program

Deadline:  June 15 of each year

Selected candidates receive a $1,000 (Canadian) scholarship. While all students are encouraged to apply, priority in awarding scholarships will be given to those pursuing a career in the automotive aftermarket. As a bonus, a matching grant is awarded to scholarship recipients who become technicians in the automotive aftermarket. You may claim your matching grant up to one year after graduation.

Please note: Students must be enrolled full-time for the year of the scholarship. For instance, if you apply this year, you must be enrolled for the academic year starting September of this year up to May or June of the following year.


    • Qualified applicants must either be a graduating high school senior or have graduated from high school within the past two years.
    • Applicants must be enrolled in a college-level program, university or an accredited automotive program. Students must be enrolled full-time for the year of the scholarship.  You must be enrolled for September of the year you are applying until April of the following year.
    • Priority will be given to those pursuing a career in the automotive aftermarket.
    • Participants must be attending a full-time program in Canada. Graduate programs and undergraduate part-time programs do not qualify.

Submission Requirements

It is imperative that all applications are properly completed as incomplete applications will not be processed.

  • Scholarship application along with your essay (at least 250 words in length, no longer than one page, double-spaced), indicating why you believe you deserve to be chosen to receive a scholarship.
  • If you are still attending high school or have graduated but not yet entered your post-secondary program, you must submit a high school transcript. NOTE: Transcripts without an official raised school seal will not be accepted.
  • If you are attending a post-secondary program, a copy of your current school transcript with official school seal. NOTE: Transcripts without an official raised school seal will not be accepted.
  • Letter of recommendation (from a non family member, preferably an employer, teacher or someone other than a family friend).

How to Apply

Canadian Applicants: Download and complete the application form
U.S. Applicants: More information

For more information about the University of the Aftermarket Foundation, visit or contact Peter Kornafel at 816-584-0511 or

*Our 2017 UofAF Scholarship Recipients:  *Our 2016 GAAS Scholarship Recipients: *Our 2015 GAAS Scholarship Recipients:
  • Nathan Chun Kit Siu – Carleton University
  • David Warnez Woolridge – University of Windsor
  • Gregory Gordon Maki – Superior SVI High School
  • Ashton Joel Buller – University of Alberta
  • Emily Marian Shibata – University of British Columbia
  • Alexander L.E. Tatti – UBC Allard School of Law
  • Kevin Zhang – McMaster University
  • Aysha Panatch – University of Calgary
  • Romario R. Waite – Thornlea Secondary School
  • Gabrielle Viau – CEP St. Jerome
  • Ajay Kanwar – Georgian College
  • David S Hulowski – University of Alberta
  • Angela Xiaoling Chen –  Georgian College
  • Calvin Kaartinen – Red River College
  • William Hurren – Georgian College
  • Kaley Wainwright – University of British Columbia
  • Joseph Sheppard – Carleton North High School
  • Tyrell Wilkinson – Thompson Rivers University
  • Nathan Dahlen – BCIT (British Columbia Institute of Technology)
  • Matthew Agnihotri – Waterloo University
  • Colten McMillan – Belleisle Regional High School
*Our 2014 GAAS Scholarship Recipients: *Our 2013 GAAS Scholarship Recipients:   *Our 2012 GAAS Scholarship Recipients:
  • Branson Mayne – Holland College
  • Jason Westelaken – Georgian College
  • John Iddon – College of the Rockies
  • Jordan Hofer – University of Manitoba
  • Lachlan Shum – University of Victoria
  • Nigel Campbell – Northern Alberta Institute of
  • Takuma Cottle – Queen’s University
  • Cassandra Simmons – McMaster University
  • Colleen Dennehy – Simon Fraser University
  • Éloïse Côte Palardy – Centre de Formation Compétence 2000
  • Gavin Michael Fraser – Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • Jim Swanson – Western University
  • Mackenzie Wootton – Queen’s University
  • Shail Shah – University of Waterloo
  • Gavin Michael Fraser – Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • Michael Adams – Conestoga College
  • Hamrit Sidhu – University of Waterloo
  • Joseph Ferrarelli – University of Windsor
  • Zainab Habib – MacEwan University
  • Ashley Mulders – Queen’s University
  • Angela Grace Balanga – University of Regina

*Prior to 2017, this scholarship was part of the Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium ( GAAS) Scholarship Program.

3 thoughts on “AIA and the University of the Aftermarket Foundation (UofAF) Scholarship Program”

Comments are closed.

Member-Only Page Access.

Sign in to view member-only content

AIA Membership

  1. Membership Benefits

    Membership in AIA gives you the tools and support you need to make your mark in the automotive aftermarket industry. Here are the benefits.

  2. Current Member Login

    Please note that some content on this website is available exclusively to AIA members. Login now to access the ‘Members Only’ section.

  3. Want to become a member?

    Not a member of AIA? Join online or call 1-800-808-2920.

- Enter Your Location -
- or -